Patience with Your Family (Day 1: Cruise 2017)

Ever been in a situation where your family can be a bit overwhelming? I gotcha some words of wisdom that would hopefully help you calm down, and enjoy your family’s company during your time of distress.

Chores complete. Stomach full. Thunder mumbling outside. The skies are gray. I believe it is time for my first blog post ladies and gentlemen!

Awwwwww yeaaaah.


Patience with Family Cover Art


During the last week, my family and I have been on a 6-Day Carribean Cruise. From the 10 hour drive from Georgia to Florida to spending a week out of the country, then driving back home; you could say that there are bits of wisdom that I’ve learned. What’s wisdom worth if there is no one to share it with?

For each day of my trip, there will be a new blog post of the knowledge the day has revealed. Here is the itinerary:

  • Day 1: Patience with Your Family (Driving To Florida)
  • Day 2: Shyness and Vacation (Arriving at Port)
  • Day 3: Stop Doing Everything! (Nassau, Bahamas)
  • Day 4: Explore Past the Crowds (Half Moon Cay Island)
  • Day 5: Remember, Tourism is just Business (Grand Turk Island)
  • Day 6: Smile (Amber Cove, Dominican Republic)
  • Day 7: Eat Too Much? (Sea Day)
  • Day 8: Should You Go on Vacation with Your Family? (Driving Back Home)

Shall we get started?


Slap!
Ooooooh, it hurts so good! When you try to take pictures with your brother, but he refuses to be in any of them. Good times. Good times.

On July 15, my family and I packed our bags, filled the car, locked the doors, and began the 10-hour journey to St. Lauderdale, Florida. We were going the catch the 6-day Carribean Cruise the very next day.

Now, for a little back story: This cruise was planned about 2 months in advance (so you could say we did it last minute). My mom was fuming at the idea that we were not going to do any sort of vacation this whole year. She claimed she “NEEDS it”. I don’t blame her. The work she does requires a heavy amount of physical endurance, which leads her to become tremendously agitated by the time she arrives home. Despite knowing that, she continues to work 6 out of the 7 days of the long week. On the other hand, my dad never seems to be pumped about any sort of holiday. He believes all places are the same. For my father’s work, he does not do anything really strength required; however, he does not stop working! There’s always some sort of project he is working on. (Now I can understand their reasoning on why they think we are lazy. I am not lazy. My brother, well . . . ) My brother and I were neutral on the cruise, so the odds were even. Low and behold, my mom said, “screw it! We are going on this trip.”

Which brings us back to the car. Have you ever been in a situation where a parent or even someone you know complains about their job none stop and hates it to the absolute core, but continues to work for the company? That was my mom. Understand this. The people she works with are pretty shitty. Most of the guests are also pretty shitty because they can be racist, rich, penny-pinching bastards. Though my mom has white skin, she has an accent that gives away her Latin roots. I’m not saying this is why she can’t move up or anything because her work ethic is to do something right and to do it well. What I’m saying is that the administrators and managers are corrupted in a way that throws their moral ethics away deserved by their employees for the sake of making a larger profit. There are pros and cons about the job, but in the end, it does not make her happy, to say the least. She hasn’t left, because it has been the most stable job she’s had since coming to Georgia. Does that still give her a reason to complain? I thought so, figuring that once she exploded about her job she would realize that it was not worth the time to even speak of that horrible place. An almost what’s done is done sort of thing. Long story short, she has not, and by the time we were on the freeway driving to the vacation she fought for and still making her complaints with my dad about her job, I was beginning to get fed up.

“Can you stop talking about your job.” I interrupted. (Already, I knew I better chose my next words carefully and gently, or else I was going to have my ass handed to me on a silver fucking platter. If there was something my mom was really good at, it was shutting my mouth and putting me in place . . . Something I wish she would do to her manager, but what’cha gonna do.)

The conversation went silent, and only the radio was making enough noise to save me from the overwhelming amount of guilt I would have felt. “I think you should open your salon business, Mama.”

Here’s some more back story (I’ll make it shorter than the last one): My mom recently received her Masters in Cosmetology diploma, and she was searching for a part-time job paired with her current full-time hell. The idea was that once she gained enough experience working at a salon and her pay grade increased, she would be able to leave that death trap of work and be a full-time salon stylist. She has the natural ability and the friendliest customer service. The problem was landing a job.

We have discussed the “fantasy” of actually opening a salon, but she shot it down because the working experience is a critical first move. Regardless, I think it is a goal of hers, so talking about it makes good motivation.

“But without clientele, how am I going to sustain the bills.” she sighed. (One thing I would like to mention, is that when you immediately think or say the negative, then you are already setting yourself up for failure. It can be a nasty habit, but breaking it, at least I believe, is the key to success.)

“How about when we get home, we apply to that salon in the mall I had my hair done one time. Once you get in, build the clientele and excellent service, so when you eventually open your own shop, then they will follow.” I wanted to counteract her negative comment, with something hopeful and optimistic. The wheels began to turn. Soon my dad joined in on the benefits of having a business. I mentioned adding the uniqueness of having a pond in the middle of her salon, especially since she adores the calming effect of fish. We were having a full on invigorating discussion of how she can accomplish this goal. The thing is that it is not just fantasy talk. It was a realistic approach of how we together were going to help her out and handle the situation at our feet. I’d like to share this quote:

Be the person you needed when you were younger.

Take this in perspective. Everyone is still a child, no matter the age they are. We are all learning the ways of this world, and we are constantly looking for guidance and some backup with our hopes and dreams. Even adults need that parental encouragement, even if it is from someone younger. We all are human. We get sad, depressed, lonely every now and then. The only difference is that age allows the experience of dealing with it, not necessarily better or worse. Be considerate to others, especially your parents. I hope this will help you be a little more patient with them.

 

Parent Quote
“Love your parents. We are so busy growing up, that we often forget they are also growing old.”

Unfortunately, parents do not live forever. I wish they did. No matter all the anger, sadness, and hate I felt for them. I always got over it, because they love me.

Thank you so much! From the bottom of my heart, I truly appreciate the precious time you have taken to read this article. I hope it at least made you think of things in a more positive way. Please take care, and I hope you will join me on the next topic.

 

See you soon! ❤

LadyNovaGirl


 

Patience with family good bye
Run Burger, Run!